Has it been a year

One year ago, Hurricane Katrina hit. katrina-205.jpgI can’t believe it’s been a year. Luckily for me, I was safely in The Woods RV Park (www.woodsrvpark.com)  in Montgomery, Alabama. Not too long after that I was sent to Anniston, Alabama to help my former company prepare barracks for Katrina evacuees. I was there for almost 2 weeks and met some wonderful people and great friends. That was not to last as I was sent to Slidell, Louisiana because we had people there working. The company I was with had people there cleaning up katrina-26.jpgbarracks at the Naval Construction Battalion Center in Gulfport, Mississippi and Keesler Air Force Base in Biloxi. I was the main person to get supplies for the workers and spent much time standing in line at wal-mart. While there we slept in trailers in a campground in Slidell. I also was there in the campground when Hurricane Rita arrived. Luckily for us and the people of the area who had been through so much devastation, Rita made landfall to the west along the Texas/Louisiana border. We did think that we would be able to ride it out in the campground but I was awaken around midnight. Our campground was flooded and we had too move to higher ground at our warehouse. I have added a picture of me in the campground. It was a hot night sleeping on a sleeping bag on a concrete floor. This being the first anniversary has gotten me reminiscent and unfortunately I am no longer with the company I was with so if another Hurricane were to hit, I would not be able to lend a hand. You can help by going to www.yardbyyard.com to donate if you want to.

Leave a Reply

